Celebrating Kwanzaa!


Kwanzaa is a holiday celebrated in America and other countries by people of African descent. Beginning on December 26th and ending on January 1st, each day focuses on one of the seven main principals:

  • Umoja (Unity)
  • Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)
  • Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility)
  • Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics)
  • Nia (Purpose)
  • Kuumba (Creativity)
  • Imani (Faith)

There are seven symbols of Kwanzaa

  • Mkeka (Mat made from straw or cloth to place the other 6 symbols on)
  • Mazao (Fruits, nuts and vegetables)
  • Kinara (Candle holder usually made from wood or other natural materials)
  • The Mishumaa Saba (The seven candles: 3 red, 3 green and one black)
  • Kikombe Cha Umoja (Unity cup)
  • Vibunzi & Mihindi (An ear of corn) & (more than one ear of corn) (one for each child)
  • Zawadi (Gifts, usually hand made)

If you are planning a celebration for a Girl Scout holiday take a look at our Scout Holidays page.  

Help your scouts remember important dates with our free printable calendar especially for Girl Scouts. Important Girl Scout dates are already labelled in green.

Fun Fact: The name Kwanzaa comes from an African phrase meaning first fruits.